Ratfab – Det brinner en eld / Mörka ögon

So… the quest is over. I’ve actually had it laying around at home since the start of the summer but i haven’t gotten around to posting in a while. But now is the time.

Ratfab – Det brinner en eld / Mörka ögon (Red House Records – RH-2)

I can’t really remember when i first got my eyes on it, but i know fore sure that it was through Richard Forrest’s excellent list Rateyourmusic. At first i didn’t really put much of an effort into finding it. I did the random searches on ebay and discogs and came to the conclusion that this most likely was a record that i would probably never find and/or afford. Or i would at least have problems convincing myself to justify a purchase. Or at least so i thought. Time went on and i picked up other covers here and there which had a little healthier price tag. Before i knew it was stuck with something that at least resembled a collection. And every collection must have it’s crown jewel.

I think it was the combination of it being by a swedish band (thus making the possibilities for me to find it a little bit better compared to many of the other rare covers) and that it had such a great backstory to it which made me develop an extreme “must have feeling”.

Somehow i found the emailadress to Calle Häggqvist who played bass in the band and eventually he made me an offer to buy a copy which unfortunately didn’t happen. I also contacted my two involuntary mentors Richard Forrest and Frank Edwards to ask if they, against all odds, had an extra copy laying around. I posted on forums, ad sites and contacted almost every single online record store i could find. All to no avail.

Every now and then the record would appear on ebay and so in may a copy was posted from a swedish online record shop that i hadn’t seen before. This copy also had some interesting extra material like a press release and some other things and eventually sold for more than i was willing and/or able to pay at the time. I then contacted the seller, intentionally only to enquire about the extra material but i offcourse also asked if they had more copies available and if they might be willing to part from one outside of ebay. And they did. I was offered two different copies, the first had quite a lot of ring wear and some other issues. The second one looked much better. I debated with myself for quite some time i finally decided to go for the better looking copy, and i don’t regret this for a second. It’s not in perfect condition but i am more than pleased and so happy about finally having this cover to add to my collection!

But “smakar det så kostar det” (if it’s tastes good it’s most likely expensive). My hopes where offcourse to find the record hidden and forgotten in a bin somehere in the back of an old record shop, but like i’ve said there simply isn’t time to move around and try to find it. And i also do believe that most owners of the few record stores that still exist know enough to not sell this record for a few dollars.

So… it was with somewhat mixed feelings i put this cover up display at home. Offourse it’s fun, great and exciting to finally get a hold of it for what turned out to be a fair price. But intentionally there was a slighly different plan. But this is good enough. And the chance to sometime find it for some spare change hasn’t disappeared just because it’s now up on my wall. Someday… maybe…

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “Ratfab – Det brinner en eld / Mörka ögon

  1. Pingback: Highs and lows of 2014 | ratfab

  2. Pingback: My thoughts on the new and expanded edition of “Andy Warhol: The Complete Commissioned Record Covers” | ratfab

  3. Hi! I lived in Sweden when RATFAB and Moby Dick were formed. I knew the band personally and I know the background behind A.W. providing the artwork for the Album. What wonderful memories you’ve brought back to mind after all these years. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

